please click on the icon for the stream of your choice

American brutal death act
will rerelease album
‘System Of The Animal 25’

Album Cover Artwork by Francoise Duvvier

System of the Animal
Purging the Nemesis
Day One
G.F.Y.S. (Go Fuck Your Self)

Song performed by: Pyrexia
Written by: Chris Basile
Produced by: Chris Basile
Mixed/Mastered: Miguel Tereso

to watch the video-clip of ‘Unscathed’, please click play…

Lyric Video Artwork by: Aarmada Art

pic by Jim Wertman

Pyrexia are:
Chris Basile – guitar
Shaun Kennedy – bass
Jim Beach – vocals
John Glassbrenner – drums

Tour Dates – Pyrexia w/ Cerebral Incubation (Unique Leader), Atoll (Unique Leader), Reeking Aura (Parasitic Records):
Aug 3Huntingtown, MD – 611 Cafe
Aug 4Richmond, VA – Another Round
Aug 5Charlotte, NC – The Milestone
Aug 6Spartanburg, SC – Ground Zero
Aug 7Jacksonville, FL – TBD
Aug 8Tampa Bay, FL – Brass Mug
Aug 9Orlando, FL – Conduit
Aug 10Atlanta, GA – TBD
Aug 11Newark, DE – Halftime Sports Pub
Aug 12Clifton, NJ – Dingbatz

2023 – System of The Animal 25 (Gravitas Entertainment)
2021 – Gravitas Maximus – LP (Unique Leader Records)
2018 – Unholy Requiem – LP (Unique Leader Records)
2015 – Sermon of Mockery Reissue – LP (Century Media)
2013 – Feast of Iniquity – LP (Unique Leader Records)
2007 – Age of the Wicked – LP (Unique Leader Records)
2004 – Cruelty Beyond Submission – Compilation (Rex Records)
1999 – Catastrophic-The Cleansing (featuring members of Obituary)
1997 – System of the Animal – LP (Serious Entertainment)
1995 – Hatred Anger And Disgust – EP (Self-Release)
1993 – Sermon of Mockery – LP (Drowned Productions)
1991 – Liturgy of Impurity – EP (Self-Release)

Decibel Magazine:
“Close out the week in this post-apocalyptic hellscape with a fittingly on-point lyric video from U.S. death metal legends Pyrexia for the track ‘Unscathed’.”

Pyrexia (Long Island, New York) guitarist Chris Basile:
“This album was ahead of its time in 1997. I don’t think a lot of people were ready for such a mix of Brutal Death Metal VS. Beatdown Hardcore. When people hear this material with the production we put together with Demigod Studio, combined with the fact that the music was written in the mid-90s. I think it puts Pyrexia in a whole new light for a lot of people. I think the songwriting is really going to stand out for listeners bored with bands that put out the same album over and over.”
Guitarist Chris Basile originally wrote this track in 1989 for the first band he was in Mortuary.
The first people to play and perform this song were Terrence Hobbs, Mike Smith, and Doug Cerrito of the original Suffocation lineup while they were all in Mortuary together.
It would later appear on the first recording of the album ‘System of the Animal’ in 1997.
In 2018 Pyrexia pulled off the impossible.
The band had a European tour and a US tour scheduled so close together that the tours overlapped for 5 shows.
Rather than cancel any shows from either tour.
Pyrexia Split itself in 2.
Using past members and sessions musicians, Pyrexia played on 2 separate Continents simultaneously for 5 straight nights.
The ‘System of the Animal 25’ layout for the CD and Vinyl was done by none other than Danny Nelson, singer of the New York band Malignancy.
25-year anniversary of the original release.
1987-1989: Chris Basile joins the band Mortuary along with Terrence Hobbs, Doug Cerrito, and Mike Smith, all of Suffocation.
Together over 30 songs were written by the band and many of the songs and riffs written during this time appear on both Pyrexia and Suffocation’s early releases leading to many comparisons.
1990: Basile meets up with the four other original members Guy Marchais, Rob Shimonski, Daryl Wagner and Mike Andrejko, and Pyrexia is formed.
They go on to release their 1991 demo ‘Liturgy of Impurity’ and later the classic 1993 Full-length ‘Sermon of Mockery’, cementing their place in the anoles of Death Metal history.
Pyrexia continued to release one seminal release after another including their 1997 ‘System of the Animal’, and even teaming up with Trevor Peres of Obituary in 1999 to form the band ‘Catastrophic’ which went on to release their debut album on Metal Blade records.
In 2007 the band signed with Unique Leader Records and began an extensive campaign of touring and performing both in America and overseas in support of the next three albums released under the UL moniker that continues today.
With the addition of Gravitas Entertainment and Management as full-time management for the band, the schedule and team in place for 2023 have the band set for new heights.
The 25 years anniversery re-release of ‘System Of The Animal 25’ will be out on the 6th of june 2023 via Gravitas Entertainment.

Scroll to Top