01 – 10: TUNGSTEN – RAGE

memories of rage by john 510s

a few months before my official -in the papers- adulthood, a very good friend of mine, with whom we are from the same village in the country side of greece (together we have spent some 10 years of our childhood years at exotic Karpenisi) decides to come to my parents house in athens for givingme my namesday gift.
It is an album. ‘Perfect Man’ of Rage.

a band until these days totaly unknown to me.
After we melted the vynil by playing it for hours on the record player my love for this band began. Love at first sight!

i don’t know, how it happened, maybe the country they are from, maybe that hell of a drummer Christos Efthymiadis from Kozani (at those days there were no Greek musicians in international bands), maybe that fucking leather cape peavy was wearing…

So, during my visit at my friend’s house (where the melting of his vinyls and cassettes for copying began), I was very happy to discover the next release of the band ‘Secrets in a Weird World’.

Apparently i totaly lost control, when I heard that album.
but i really went nuts, when I held in my hands that magic piece of paper for the entrance to paradise there at Marni street…where the’Hammersmith’ of Athens used to be…

peavy and fok ‘bs’ 18.2.1990 rodon club backstage

Sunday 18.02.1990 was the magic day. i still served in the greek army and after a voluntary stay of 7 days of service in the camp, just get that weekend clearance paper for that day.
I went down the Alexandras avenue alone, because i didn’t have in those days so many metalheads friends (yes, we were still walking in those days)…
i still was a ‘good-looking and decent young man’ not like these healthy people, lol…
shaved head in the spirit of the dogma either long hair or non at all, tight jeans melted in the buttocks from the cements of gate 13 of the stadium of panathinaikos and ripped at the knees for the spirit of revolution, with hand-painted pattern guns n roses logo on the thighs, old greek army boots, black ‘flying’ with badges, borrowed and never returned by a classmate (I still have it), a bag cap, so that the bald head does not freaze, motorhead t-shirt (what else) and the necessary accessory rings-earrings-bracelets-belts, with a beer per hand and the ticket in the pocket.

My joy was huge, cause even as a metal audience in greece we were for centuries behind other countries in live concerts …
I imagined a lot before the live … But what I did not expect was the performance of rage, the participation of the audience in a relatively new band that is essentially recommended to the audience and the emotion-surprise-joy of all of us from the Greek flag that was spread in the drumkit of Christos who with his broken Greek made the necessary recommendations under our cheers and the applause of Peavy and the
short-tempered Manni … Not to mention
… few knew them, many learned them at that night…
it was totaly insane. an incredible performance in an approximately 40 minute set-hurricane, which ended with my favorite (all of us) ‘Don’t Fear The Winter’. Their first song ever that I heard from the album that my friend gave me …
My opinion? The band of the evening.

video uploaded to youtube by jimmymentis

Not that Running Wild did not play well … they kicked asses. But i saw them again last year there, in a live where the performance of Conquistadores made the walls shake…
maybe it was my curiosity for Rage and that incredible moment to see the band i just discovered and i was excited of, maybe it was that 4-0 loose, that the local arch enemy in football received in Xanthi earlier in the afternoon, everything helped me to experience a musical metallic dream in…
After all, so many years have passed and the memory is weakening …
The only sure thing is that what increased from those first releases, that I heard, but also from the later ones, is undoubtedly my love for them and my weight … Not only mine but also Peavy’s…:-)
ps: their last album ‘Resurrection Day’ is awesome…

SETLIST 18.2.1990 rodon club athens, greece
01 Time Waits for No One
02 Animal Instinct
03 Invisible Horizons
04 Light Into the Darkness
05 A Pilgrim’s Path
06 Without a Trace
07 Guitar Solo
08 Death in the Afternoon
09 Down by Law
10 Drum Solo
11 Talk to Grandpa
12 Don’t Fear the Winter

New Album “Tundra”

NEW RELEASE DATE: 27. November 2020 

Swedish metal band TUNGSTEN is back with their second album entitled »Tundra«. After the success of debuting album, »We Will Rise« (released worldwide on September 20, 2019) TUNGSTEN is back and ready to release their second album to the world entitled »Tundra« on the 27th of November 2020 via Arising Empire
»Tundra« Tracklisting:
 01. Lock And Load
 02. Volfram’s Song
 03. Time
 04. Divided Generations
 05. King Of Shadows
 06. Tundra
 07. Paranormal
 08. Life And The Ocean
 09. I See Fury
 10. This Is War
 11. Here Comes The Fall

Mike Andersson | Vocals
Karl Johansson | Bass & Screams
Nick Johansson | Guitar
Anders Johansson | Drums

a very interesting album this new epos from tungsten. these 4 swedish boys really are not afraid of using and mixing several influences in their music.

sometimes you really don’t know in wich genre to put them. are they industrial, are they folk metal? no they are just tungsten. a band, that knows how to mix these influences.

as a teaser of this album i would propose ‘king of shadows’ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUb9BA9cdoo), which has also been releazed as a single, this diamant of ‘not beeing afraid of mixing different influences’ ‘lock and load’ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mnQlxgoIwwk) and finally ‘this is war’ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUYtsTnGn4U).

in every case this mixing of folk metal with industrial is a very interesting point of view…

(fok ‘bs’)